Hockey: Hampstead & Westminster duo in England World Cup squad

England's men are heading to the Hockey World Cup in India

England's men are heading to the Hockey World Cup in India - Credit: Archant

Hampstead & Westminster’s Harry Martin and Will Calnan have been named in the England squad for the Odisha World Cup in India.

Head coach Danny Kerry has selected a squad of 18, plus two travelling reserves, in a group that boasts youth and experience and players who have competed in multiple World Cups alongside 13 making their tournament debuts.

Zach Wallace, 18, and 21-year-olds Jack Waller and Rhys Smith are the youngest players to be selected having impressed in recent months, while Barry Middleton will compete at his fourth World Cup and Adam Dixon his third.

“The athletes have been working hard and embracing new ideas over the last eight weeks in the build up to World Cup selection and we could not have asked more from the team in terms of attitude and application,” Kerry said.

“We understand the challenge our pool represents and will have to be at our very best to progress to the latter rounds of the tournament.

“We realise that many teams will start favourites ahead of us, we also know we are capable of threatening all teams.

“The management team have been brilliant in preparing and supporting the team. We all look forward to the many challenges of a World Cup.”

Most Read

The tournament runs from 28 November to 16 December as the world’s best sides compete for one of hockey’s greatest prizes, with all games live on BT Sport.

In Pool B alongside England are reigning champions, three-time winners and current world number one Australia. Ireland will also provide very stiff competition alongside China.

England have finished fourth in the last two editions of the tournament – at The Hague in 2014 and at Delhi in 2010 – and will be aiming to go one further this time round and claim their first medal since 1986.

England: George Pinner, Harry Gibson, Adam Dixon, Liam Sanford, Mark Gleghorne, Jack Waller, Michael Hoare, Luke Taylor, Harry Martin, David Ames, Ian Sloan, Barry Middleton, Zach Wallace, James Gall, Phil Roper, David Condon, Will Calnan, Sam Ward. Reserves: Brendan Creed, Rhys Smith.

Fixtures: China (Nov 30), Australia (Dec 4), Ireland (Dec 7), Crossover (Dec 10), Quarter-final (Dec 12), Semi-final (Dec 15), Final/third-place (Dec 16).