Five Saracens to represent British and Irish Lions on 2021 tour

England's Owen Farrell during the warm up before the Guinness Six Nations match at the Aviva Stadium

England's Owen Farrell during the warm up before the Guinness Six Nations match at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin. - Credit: PA

Five Saracens players are set to represent the British and Irish Lions on the tour to South Africa this summer. 

Owen Farrell, Jamie George, Maro Itoje, Mako Vunipola and Elliot Daly have all been selected by head coach Warren Gatland and will join up the squad following the conclusion of the Greene King IPA Championship season.  

The five players selected all featured on the previous Lions Tour to New Zealand in 2017 – a series that was drawn in dramatic fashion. 

Farrell, who has 93 England caps and four Lions caps, as well as Vunipola, with 67 England appearances and six for the Lions, will be competing on their third Tour after going in 2013 and 2017. 

File photo dated 04-02-2018 of England's Mako Vunipola. Issue date: Thursday May 6, 2021.

File photo dated 04-02-2018 of England's Mako Vunipola. - Credit: PA

George, who started all three tests in 2017 and has 59 England caps to his name is on duty for a second time, as well as Itoje and Daly who also played in every test in New Zealand with 48 and 52 England caps respectively.  

Saracens have the highest representation of any domestic club in the 36-man squad to be heading to the Rainbow nation in late June.  

Mark McCall spoke of his pride at seeing five Saracens called up to the squad.  

Most Read

“We’re immensely proud of all of our players that have been selected. We are of course very disappointed for Billy and Sean who continue to be hugely valuable to both our club and their national teams. 

“There is plenty of rugby still to play between now and the end of the season, but we are glad to be strongly represented on the tour and are very excited to see them in action this summer.” 

British & Irish Lions squad in full: Josh Adams (Wales), Bundee Aki (Ireland), Dan Biggar (Wales), Elliot Daly (England), Gareth Davies (Wales), Owen Farrell (England), Chris Harris (Scotland), Robbie Henshaw (Ireland), Stuart Hogg (Scotland), Conor Murray (Ireland), Ali Price (Scotland), Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales), Finn Russell (Scotland), Duhan Van Der Merwe (Scotland), Anthony Watson (England), Liam Williams (Wales), Tadhg Beirne (Ireland), Jack Conan (Ireland), Luke Cowan-Dickie (England), Tom Curry (England), Zander Fagerson (Scotland), Taulupe Faletau (Wales), Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), Jamie George (England), Iain Henderson (Ireland), Jonny Hill (England), Maro Itoje (England), Wyn Jones (Wales), Courtney Lawes (England), Ken Owens (Wales), Andrew Porter (Ireland), Sam Simmonds (England), Rory Sutherland (Scotland), Justin Tipuric (Wales), Mako Vunipola (England), Hamish Watson (Scotland), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales, capt).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter