Hockey: England 0 Australia 3

England lost to Australia at the World Cup in India (pic England Hockey)

England lost to Australia at the World Cup in India (pic England Hockey) - Credit: Archant

Three stunning final-quarter strikes saw Australia beat England in a tough 2018 Men’s Hockey World Cup encounter in India.

Jake Whetton, Blake Govers and Corey Weyer each produced immaculate finishes to give the reigning champions the win.

But the final scoreline was somewhat harsh on England, who included Hampstead & Westminster duo Harry Martin and Will Calnan and were on even terms with the world’s number one outfit for much of the game.

Mark Gleghorne forced Tyler Lovell into a stunning save and Phil Roper clipped the post in the first half but Australia took the game by the scruff of the neck in the second to keep up their perfect start to the tournament.

In a circumspect first quarter, Barry Middleton drew the game’s first save with a dangerous cross on the reverse that Lovell just prevented from reaching David Condon.

Australia’s ‘keeper was busy in the second quarter too as the game lit up, keeping out Liam Ansell and brilliantly deflecting Gleghorne’s wicked strike just over the bar, while Roper hit the woodwork for the second straight game.

George Pinner was also on top form at the other end, ensuring the teams were level at half-time with two impressive saves low to his right from Australian corners, before charging off his line to tackle Daniel Beale as he shaped to shoot.

Most Read

Gleghorne and Pinner combined to keep out Govers’ corner flick in the 35th minute as Australia ramped up the pressure, with the ‘keeper on hand once again shortly after to thwart Flynn Ogilvie.

There was nothing he could do to prevent the goals, though, as Whetton swept the ball into the corner, Govers struck with an incredible no-look shot and Weyer slammed a 56th-minute effort home.

England’s final group game sees them take on Ireland, who include Hampstead’s Chris Cargo, on Friday at 1.30pm, with the being shown live on BT Sport.

England: George Pinner, David Ames, Mark Gleghorne, Phil Roper, Adam Dixon, Barry Middleton, Liam Ansell, David Condon, Jack Waller, James Gall, Liam Sanford. Subs: Luke Taylor, Harry Martin, Ian Sloan, Michael Hoare, Will Calnan, Zach Wallace.