Having an old passport can make booking a quick getaway a nuisance for UK travellers thanks to long renewal times.

Most countries require foreign travellers to have at least six months of validity left on their passports from the day they arrive.

However, travel experts have revealed a number of countries that don't require this, allowing travellers with only 3 months left on their passports to enter.

The countries that don't require 6 months' validity on passports

Ham & High: Albania, Poland and more only require three months on passports.Albania, Poland and more only require three months on passports. (Image: Getty)

While most of these countries and territories are safe to go to, it is always worth checking the UK Government's foreign travel advice which can be found on the GOV.UK website.

Here are the countries you can travel to if you have less than six months left on your passport, according to the experts over at Visa Guide World.

These countries require at least three months of validity on passports:

  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Czechia
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Honduras
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon

Ham & High: Lebanon, Hong Kong and South Africa have differing passport rules.Lebanon, Hong Kong and South Africa have differing passport rules. (Image: PA)

Recommended Reading:

  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Nauru
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Senegal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Other countries require differing passport validity periods upon arrival:

  • Bermuda - 45 days upon entry
  • Eritrea - 3 months on arrival
  • Hong Kong - 3 months on arrival
  • Lebanon - 3 months on arrival
  • Macau - 3 months on arrival
  • Micronesia - 4 months on arrival
  • South Africa - 3 months on arrival
  • The Maldives - 3 months on arrival
  • Zambia - 4 months on arrival

Find out more about these countries on the UK Government website.