Constituency boundary changes will split Camden in four

The borough of Camden will be split between four MPs – with the town hall falling into the constituency of Islington South - if dramatic boundary changes announced this week are adopted.

Currently there are only two MPs for Camden – Glenda Jackson for Hampstead and Kilburn and Frank Dobson for Holborn and St Pancras.

Holborn and St Pancras will no longer exist and a new constituency, Camden and Regent’s Park, will include the wards of Camden, Belsize and Haverstock, as well as Marylebone wards currently in Westminster North.

Under the new proposals the Belsize area, now part of Glenda Jackson’s Hampstead and Kilburn constituency, would become part of the new Camden and Regent’s Park seat.

South Camden wards currently in Holborn and St Pancras move into the new City of London and Islington South constituency, which in effect merges the seats held by Conservative MP Mark Field and Labour’s Emily Thornberry. Meanwhile Fortune Green will be the only Camden ward in the Barnet constituency of Finchley and Golders Green.

Frank Dobson who has been MP for Holborn and St Pancras since 1983 believes the changes are bad news.

He said: “I was an individual councillor and then leader of the council and since then I have worked my socks off to try to build up a sense of community and common interest with the people in this constituency and now it’s flying off in all directions and it is really bizarre.”

Most Read

Glenda Jackson, MP for Hampstead and Kilburn, said there will be strong “community cohesion” after the boundary changes as the proposals will bring back seats lost in previous boundary changes - but that overall she “couldn’t conceive of a worse bill”.

She added: “These are proposals and they are not set in stone and there will opportunities for people to raise their concerns. Personally I think there are concerns – the most important thing is that two constituencies are kept within the borough of Camden.”

Under the plans in Haringey, Stroud Green ward which is currently part of Liberal Democrat minister Lynne Featherstone’s Hornsey and Wood Green constituency will move to Tottenham, while Bowes (currently part of Enfield Southgate) will be brought into the seat.

Ms Featherstone said: “We are very lucky that the vast bulk of Hornsey and Wood Green remains intact and the community can stay together. I love the area to pieces – they are my people and I don’t want to lose any of them.”