Labour’s Sir Keir Starmer vows to work ‘tirelessly’ after Holborn and St Pancras election win

Labour's Sir Keir Starmer gives his victory speech. Picture: Polly Hancock

Labour's Sir Keir Starmer gives his victory speech. Picture: Polly Hancock - Credit: Archant

Labour’s Sir Keir Starmer has vowed to “work tirelessly” for his constituents after being voted the next MP for Holborn and St Pancras.

The former Director of Public Prosecutions stormed to victory with 53 per cent of the votes and a majority of more than 17,000 – growing on the 2010 result.

Conservative candidate Will Blair came second while Green Party leader Natalie Bennett improved her share of the vote to beat the Liberal Democrat candidate Jill Fraser to third.

The long night saw candidates wait until 5am to hear the results at Somers Town Community Sports Centre.

Frank Dobson, who had held the seat for Labour since 1979, stepped down as MP for this election.

The 79-year-old was at the count to watch Sir Keir win an even greater percentage of the vote than what was won in 2010 (46.1 per cent).

In his victory speech, Sir Keir Starmer said: “Being elected to represent Holborn and St Pancras is a very special privilege and I do want to pay tribute to Frank Dobson who has been a model parliamentarian and constituency MP for all of these years.

Most Read

“I intend to take the baton from Frank and to continue in the same tradition of being a community-focused MP.

“Holborn and St Pancras faces some very real challenges in the next five years – challenges which have got bigger as the results of tonight become better known.

“We have to face those challenges. We must ensure that there is housing that people in our constituency can actually afford.

“We need more than ever tonight in light of the results to protect our public services and our NHS, and we need to ensure that HS2 does not come into Euston, in our constituency.

“I will work tirelessly for everyone in this constituency. I will give them not only a voice in parliament but the opportunities to win the arguments we must now win.”

Conservative candidate Will Blair, coming in second place, also spoke following the result, saying: “I congratulate Keir on a strong victory and I wish him the very best in representing this fantastic constituency.

“I want to thank the 12,000 voters who supported me and wanted me as their MP. I want to say how proud I am that the first time since 1997 the Conservatives are back in second place here in Holborn and St Pancras and we are now the opposition to Labour here in Camden. I’m very proud of that.

“I also want to thank my fellow candidates. This has been a wonderful and positive election.

“When I was first selected I was told I was up against a former Mayor of Camden, a former director of public prosecutions and a national party leader, I was pretty nervous. I’ve learnt so much from all the candidates.

“This has been a good result for Conservatives locally and a very good result nationally.

“From my heart, I want to say to Keir that I will work with him and all of Camden Labour to make this constituency a better place. I want to do my bit in supporting this community – protecting our pubs, supporting our high streets etc.”

The Green Party leader, who came third, thanked her campaigners and praised the “fairness” of the campaign run by her other candidates.

She had admitted earlier to the Ham&High that she “a mountain to climb” in Holborn and St Pancras, adding: “What I’m aiming to see is how far I can scale out up that mountain.”

The full list of 2015 results:

Sir Keir Starmer (Labour): 29,062 (53%)

Will Blair (Conservative): 12,014 (22%)

Natalie Bennett (Green): 7,013 (13%)

Jill Fraser (Liberal Democrat): 3,555 (6%)

Maxine Spencer (UKIP): 2,740 (5%)

Shane O’Donnell (Cannabis is Safer than Alcohol): 252

Vanessa Hudson (Animal Welfare Party): 173

David O’Sullivan (Socialist Equality Party): 108

The full list of 2010 results:

Frank Dobson (Labour): 25,198 (46.1%)

Jo Shaw (Liberal Democrat): 15,256 (27.9%)

George Lee (Conservative): 11,134 (20.4%)

Natalie Bennett (Green): 1,480 (2.7%)

Robert Carlyle (BNP): 779 (1.4%)

Maxine Spencer (UKIP): 587 (1.1%)

John Chapman (Independent): 96

Mikel Susperregi (English Democrats): 75

Iain Meek (Independent): 44