New headteacher appointed for ‘improving’ Acland Burghley School

Nicholas John has been appointed as Acland Burghley's new headteacher

Nicholas John has been appointed as Acland Burghley's new headteacher - Credit: Archant

A deputy headteacher who helped a failing school become “outstanding” has been appointed as the new leader of Acland Burghley School.

Governors announced yesterday that Nicholas John will be the “improving” Tufnell Park school’s new headteacher.

He is currently deputy head at St Paul’s Way Trust School in Tower Hamlets, which under his tenure has gone from “inadequate” to “outstanding”.

Acland Burghley was hit with a scathing report by Ofsted inspectors and downgraded from “good” to “requires improvement” in October 2013.

It was criticised for poor student behaviour, disappointing exam results and “scruffy” teachers.

Last November, inspectors returned to the school to hail the school as “transformed” under the leadership of executive headteacher Susan Higgins, leader of all-girls Parliament Hill School in Parliament Fields.

Mr John will take over from Ms Higgins in September.

Most Read

He said in a statement on Acland Burghley’s website yesterday: “I’m delighted to be joining Acland Burghley and look forward to working with governors, parents and staff in supporting children to achieve excellence.”

Mr John began his career as an English teacher, before becoming a head of department.

He is currently associate headteacher at St Paul’s Way Trust School responsible for Years 9 to 13.

Cllr Angela Mason CBE, Camden Council’s cabinet member for children, said: “I am delighted to hear that the governors of Acland Burghley School have appointed Nicholas John as the school’s new headteacher.

“Mr John is currently deputy head of an ‘outstanding’ secondary school in another London borough.

“We look forward to welcoming him to Camden and supporting him in driving forward the rapid improvements already taking place at Acland Burghley.

“Tremendous thanks go to the current executive head Susan Higgins, her deputy Anna Peduzzi and the school’s chair of governors, John Clark, for their continued support for Acland Burghley until the end of this academic year.”