The date has been set for a by-election after a councillor resigned in a bid to become an MP.

Highgate voters will elect a new councillor after the Green Party's Siân Berry, who is also a London Assembly Member, stepped down on October 20.

She had represented the Camden Council ward, which the Greens have held a seat on since 2006, for nine years.

The former Green Party leader is hoping to replace Caroline Lucas MP and represent Brighton Pavilion.

Adults aged 18 and over will head to the polls on November 30.

Nominations are closed but Camden Council has not yet released the full list of candidates.

The four main parties have chosen candidates for this by-election, which promises to be tightly contested.

Wakjira Feyesa is to stand for the Conservative Party, Lorna Russell for the Green Party, Trisha Leman for Labour and Farrell Monk for the Liberal Democrats.

These and others will be profiled when the full list is released.

Highgate ward is the northernmost ward in the borough of Camden, and part of the parliamentary constituency of Holborn & St Pancras.

It covers Dartmouth Park, Holly Lodge Estate, Highgate New Town, parts of Highgate village, Highgate Cemetery, Waterlow Park, and Hampstead Lane.

Electing three councillors, it has been split between different parties since 2006.

In the 2022 elections Siân Berry received 1,967 votes, followed by Labour's Anna Wright with 1,898 and Camron Aref-Adib with 1,809.

In 2006 two Greens and Conservative Paul Barton held the seats until his resignation two years later when Labour took his seat.

After the resignation of Labour's Michael Nicolaides in 2011, Conservative Anthony Denyer took his seat, leading to a Green/Labour/Tory split. He was ousted by Labour's Oliver Lewis in 2014 when Sian Berry replaced the Greens' Alexis Rowell.

Following the 2022 local elections, Camden Council comprised 47 Labour Party councillors, ten of which were Labour and Co-operative councillors, four Liberal Democrat councillors, three Conservative Party councillors, and one for the Green Party.

There are currently 46 Labour councillors, five Liberal Democrats and three Conservatives.