Logo

Primary School

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Downing Street has announced the closure of all schools in England from Friday afternoon, March 20.

Thursday, March 12, 2020

Heathside School has confirmed it will abandon its boarding premises at West Heath Road after protracted discussions and a High Court case with Barnet Council.

Monday, March 9, 2020

UPDATE: There are now three positive cases of coronavirus in Islington, see here.

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Local authorities across north London doubled down on parents taking their children out of school last year with the number of fines issued rising by 68 per cent.

Friday, January 31, 2020

A Muswell Hill primary school chess team booked a semi-final spot at Pontins on Sunday (January 26) after a strong first-round showing in a national competition.

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

The future of Carlton Primary School in Gospel Oak will be decided in April, according to Camden’s education chief.

Friday, November 15, 2019

Abacus Belsize Primary School’s latest bid to move into the former Hampstead Police Station was unanimously rejected by Camden Council’s planning committee last night.

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Arsenal legend Robert Pires went back to school last week to help kids at Fleet Primary in try out their skills on a new 3G pitch.

Monday, November 4, 2019

A former Hampstead School pupil inspired by a career in biology and a Golders Green nursery teacher have launched a programme to make science “an experience” for children in hope of inspiring them to take an interest in science technology, engineering and maths (STEM) subjects.

Friday, October 25, 2019

South Hampstead School has raised concerns about a proposed “healthy school street” that could divert traffic onto already busy roads, as a consultation on it finishes this week.

Friday, October 18, 2019

A private school that changed hands earlier this year after a raft of issues is now up to standard, Ofsted inspectors have found.

Thursday, October 17, 2019

South Hampstead Junior School has urged Camden Council to turn down Holiday Inn Express’s bid to expand its Finchley Road hotel – due to fears the rooms will face into its playground.

Monday, September 30, 2019

An award-winning children’s author dressed as Alice in Wonderland and visited an Archway primary school to talk about her career on Friday last week.

Thursday, August 22, 2019

The ex-owner of a Hampstead private school shut down with hundreds of thousands in unpaid income tax, an administrators’ report has revealed.

Thursday, July 25, 2019

Heathside Preparatory School has been bought by a new education provider after 26 years of unchanged leadership.

Tuesday, July 23, 2019

Deciding on a primary school for your child can be daunting and the pressure as a parent to get things right is immense.

Tuesday, July 16, 2019

The Clean Air Coleridge (CAC) campaign group sold out Crouch End Picturehouse with a Horrible Histories film screening almost a fortnight ahead of its national release.

Tuesday, July 9, 2019

The chair of governors at Fleet Primary School has said “no reasonable person” would choose to spend £21.5million on opening Abacus Belsize Primary School.

Tuesday, July 2, 2019

An investor is being sought to ensure the survival of a troubled school in Hampstead which last week indicated its parent company could go into liquidation.

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

The Department for Education (DfE) has backed the controversial Abacus Free School’s move to Hampstead’s old police station.

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Abacus School Belsize has launched its latest attempt to open in the former Hampstead Police Station in Rosslyn Hill.

Monday, May 20, 2019

The management of Heathside Preparatory School in Hampstead has been chastised by Ofsted in a report published this morning - even as inspectors praised other key improvements made since last year.

Thursday, April 18, 2019

A Jewish LGBT charity based in West Hampstead has joined voices criticising a “harmful” open letter signed by a number of north London rabbis and community figures.

Thursday, April 4, 2019

Staff and pupils have quit an independent school in droves and council chiefs have stepped in amid claims of “appalling” management, safety issues and mis-selling.

Monday, April 1, 2019

South Hampstead’s junior school chamber choir has been named the Girls’ Day School Trust Young Choir of the Year.

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

School photos are a rite of passage: a snapshot in time of bad hairstyles, gappy teeth and that hideous experiment with the blue eyeliner that went on for far too long.

Friday, February 8, 2019

It is no secret that studying for public exams can be incredibly stressful.

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

The Crowndale Centre was boosted by an army of young recruits on Friday as enthusiastic students took part in a takeover challenge.

Friday, November 23, 2018

A Kentish Town youngster is looking forward to having fun like a normal kid after taking part in a landmark global study for peanut allergy sufferers.

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It was a double celebration at Highgate School on Saturday as crowds were treated to two fireworks displays.

Thursday, November 1, 2018

Haringey parents will continue to fight for “fairer funding” for schools following the chancellor’s autumn budget.

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Camden’s youngsters were in the spotlight at the Shaw Theatre for an evening celebrating the borough’s talent.

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Three years after a controversial merger saw Torriano Primary School formed, teachers and governors are celebrating a top-of-the-class Ofsted rating that Camden Council’s education chief said “vindicated” the decision to amalgamate the schools.

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

The Heath and Hampstead Society has opposed plans to move a free school into the old Hampstead Police Station – even though the applicants have halved the number of pupils they hope to attract.

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

A budding journalist and a mentoring champion are two of the students being recognised for their high-flying achievements by the Jack Petchey Foundation.

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Fears there wouldn’t be enough school places in Tufnell Park for the number of kids in the area have been allayed by a primary school expansion project – costing £14million.

Friday, June 8, 2018

The mayor of London announced plans to extend London’s ultra-low emission zone (ULEZ) during a visit to Netley Primary School in Euston this morning (Friday).

Friday, June 8, 2018

An independent girls’ school is looking to upgrade the Victorian buildings housing its younger students.

Monday, April 16, 2018

A new survey has revealed the often “extraordinary” lengths parents have gone to get their children into their preferred primary school.

Friday, March 23, 2018

College of North West London student Tadhg Ormond delves into the history of a school which has been serving the community since before the First World War

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

A school has pulled out all the stops to champion all things scientific.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Plans for a raft of Catholic schools to form an academy trust have been kicked into the long grass due to a lack of interest from those consulted.

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Camden and Haringey schoolchildren have been celebrating the magic of fiction on World Book Day.

Monday, February 12, 2018

A Camden super group has been formed to ensure that “no child gets left behind in Camden”.

Friday, February 2, 2018

Children at Our Lady of Muswell Primary School were left “stunned” by a surprise visit of Britain’s tallest man.

Most Read