September 30 2014 Latest news:
Saturday, October 13, 2012
Wales manager Chris Coleman has defended Gareth Bale amid accusations that the Spurs winger dived to win a penalty in Wales’ 2-1 win over Scotland last night.
Questions were raised as to the amount of contact there had been between Scotland’s Shaun Maloney and Bale in the incident which resulted in the penalty.
Giving his view on the matter, Coleman said: “Simulation is a big thing at the moment and [Liverpool forward] Luis Suarez is getting the finger pointed at him.
“Let’s flip the coin - how many times does Gareth get booted, stopped or fouled by tackles not within the rules of the game and players get away with it? A lot.
“When he is running that fast and Maloney comes in just behind him, in the box the least tap and he is going down - whether he wants to or not I think.
“He takes his fair share of physical contact, and more than most players.
“I don’t like to see anybody diving and the finger has been pointed at Gareth once or twice, but I don’t think he dived there.
“He ran with great pace into the box, and watch the expression on Maloney’s face - he knows there has been a little bit of contact.”